Raise your hand if you love technology! Yeah, me neither. OR, how do I read this book without a Kindle?

Image

As an automobile enthusiast, I’ve often found occasion to lament the passing of simpler times, and simpler modes of technology.  Fundamentally, a codex book and a supercomputer amount to the same thing: information storage and retrieval.  And yet, inasmuch as new tech speeds the pace of our lives, I do not really believe this means improvement.

I took the opportunity in this novel to bestow ownership of some vintage vehicles to specific characters, cars I would love to own myself but probably never will.  I did this for some solid literary reasons, as well: as in a good movie, the choice of transportation–whether walking, flying, using public services, or other–often tells us important details about the backgrounds and values of those who employ them.  Thomas Wright’s 1939 Lincoln limousine (above) was a gift from his father, during a period of personal prosperity, immediately preceding World War II; Lambert’s old Chevy farm truck (below) served the purposes of a lifelong working man.

NOW, a practical problem rears its head for those who would like to read CLOTHO’S LOOM (available in just 12 days) but do not own a Kindle E-Reader.  Amazon.com itself has provided two solutions that I’m aware of:

1) Kindle for PC.  Here’s the link to the download: http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=kcp_pc_mkt_lnd?docId=1000426311

As the name implies, this small bit of software installs and emulates a Kindle device on your home computer.

2) Kindle Cloud Reader: https://read.amazon.com/about

Here,you create an account just as any owner would, and the virtual reader and books reside on the internet for your access when desired.

So where there’s a “Will,” there’s a way. . .to read about him.  I have tried both of these methods, and all I can say is, they worked for me.  I don’t own a Kindle, either!

Image

Leave a Reply

