The synopsis compares the novel to The Bourne Identity–is that accurate?

Not really.  It’s convenient to compare one’s work to a pre-existing entity, so that potential readers know what to expect.  Although I could imagine Matt Damon (minus the ultra-competence) playing Will in a movie version, and Ludlum’s novel does share a few philosophical premises and superficial plot similarities with mine, I’m afraid CLOTHO’S LOOM will not sustain that kind of hype.  It does blend an active plot with its other literary devices, because I personally enjoy that mode of storytelling.  So I’ve posted a screencapture of Bourne in one of his more vulnerable, less heroic moments–Will has many of those.

Image

One thought on “The synopsis compares the novel to The Bourne Identity–is that accurate?

  1. shawnst says:

    The truth is, I can’t think of another novel that’s very similar–maybe I haven’t read enough of them. I certainly stole a little bit from almost everyone I have read! The connection to Bourne was suggested by an early reader, at the draft stage.

    So if, as you’re reading the sample chapters or (dare I hope?) the entire book, you feel an apt comparison to someone else’s work, please post it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

